

BILL RICHARDSON Governor

DIANE DENISH Lieutenant Governor

## NEW MEXICO ENVIRONMENT DEPARTMENT

## Hazardous Waste Bureau

2905 Rodeo Park Drive East, Building 1 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505-6303 Phone (505) 476-6000 Fax (505) 476-6030 www.nmeny.state.nm.us



RON CURRY Secretary

CINDY PADILLA Deputy Secretary

## CERTIFIED MAIL - RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED

October 31, 2007

Mark Patterson BRAC Environmental Director Department of the Army Fort Wingate Depot Activity PO Box 268 Fort Wingate, NM 87316

RE: APPROVAL CLASS 1 PERMIT MODIFICATION

OPEN BURNING/OPEN DETONATION (OB/OD) CLOSURE PLAN

FORT WINGATE DEPOT ACTIVITY

EPA ID# NM6213820974

FWDA-07-008

Dear Mr. Patterson:

The New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) received the Department of the Army's (the Permittee's) letter, dated September 4, 2007 requesting a Class 1 permit modification to the December 2005 Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) Permit for Fort Wingate Depot Activity. The Permittee requests a permit modification to submit the Closure Plan in two phases. The first component of the Closure Plan will consist of a work plan to further characterize the OB/OD Solid Waste Management Units (SWMUs) and Areas of Concern (AOCs) inside Parcel 3. After the investigation phase is complete, the Permittees will submit a second component of the Closure Plan that addresses cleanup of the OB/OD and associated SWMUs and AOCs. The Closure Plan is required to be submitted under Permit Section III and must be provided to the Pueblo of Zuni and Navajo Nation for review prior to submittal to NMED.



Mark Patterson October 31, 2007 Page 2

NMED hereby approves the Class 1 permit modification to submit the OB/OD Closure Plans in two parts for review and approval by NMED.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please call Tammy Diaz-Martinez at (505) 476-6056 or Cheryl Frischkorn at (505) 476-6058.

Sincerely,

James P. Bearzi

Chief

Hazardous Waste Bureau

cc: Tammy Diaz-Martinez, NMED HWB

Dave Cobrain, NMED HWB

Cheryl Frischkom, NMED HWB

Steve Smith, USACE-SWF

Sharlene Begay-Platero, Navajo Nation

Eugenia Quintana, Navajo Nation

Steve Beran, Zuni Pueblo

Edward Wemytewa, Zuni Pueblo

Clayton Seoutewa, Southwest Region BIA

Link Lacewell, DOI/BLM

Rose Duwyenie, Navajo BIA

Chuck Hendrickson, U.S EPA Region 6

File: FWDA 2007 and Reading

HWB-FW-07-008